Top 10 Reads of 2019

I read a lot of books in 2019. I have to say that, towards the end of the year I was reading a lot of mediocre reads. So, most of my top 10 books have come from earlier on in the year. Many of these books are new releases which publishers have been kind enough to send my way throughout the year. I’ll do my best to let you know where the books have come from or who has sent them my way.

I’ll let you know my ratings of the books, when I read them, and I’ll try to summarise my thoughts in a couple of short sentences. I’m pretty sure I’ve written a review for all of these books, so click on the book titles to read those reviews (they will open in a new window!)

A quick disclaimer: this is in no particular order. I do give star ratings, but the same star ratings don’t always mean the same thing for different books.


 

43744300

American Royals – Katherine McGee

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ ½ | September 9th, 2019 | Penguin Random House

I think this has made it onto several peoples’ top ten lists. It was cute, yet full of angst. The characters were great, the plot was interesting, and it made me cry ugly tears. I cannot wait for the sequel in September 2020!

48748760. sy475

His Royal Highness – R S Grey

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ ½ | November 9th, 2019 | R S Grey

This was a book I thought would read much like a television drama, but instead, it was magical. Once again, cute yet full of angst. I loved the concept behind it and I’m a sucker for a slow burn relationship, so this was perfect for me!

42853461. sy475

The Bastille Spy – C S Quinn

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ | August 15th, 2019 | Atlantic Books

For a long time now, this has been the book I recommend to people when they ask what my favourite book of the year is. It had great LGBTQIA+ and POC representation. Combine that with a woman partaking in piracy and adventures, what could possibly be better?!

44157727. sy475

Great Goddesses – Nikita Gill

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ | August 13th, 2019 | Ebury Press

I generally think poetry collections are overrated, but this one was something special. A collection of poetry surrounding the women of Greek mythology who are so constantly overlooked. It was so beautifully curated, I really cannot fault it.

47946403. sy475

Life Undercover – Amaryllis Fox

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ ½ | September 18th, 2019 | Ebury Press

I don’t read a lot of non-fiction or memoirs, but a friend wanted to read this so I requested it from a publisher. I read it myself before handing it over to her and I was just in awe the whole time I spent reading this. It was written spectacularly, chronicling stories of love, war and family. This is definitely one to read if you want to get into memoirs or non-fiction!

40539136

Lie With Me – Philippe Besson

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ ½ | October 17th, 2019 | Self-Purchased

I bought this after high praise from a fellow bookstagrammer whose reviews I trust wholeheartedly. He loved this book, so I read it too. I cried reading this book. It was beautiful and heart-wrenching – another great LGBTQIA+ recommendation, here!

Fangirl

Fangirl – Rainbow Rowell

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ | February 14th, 2019 | Self-Purchased

I feel like this is cheating because, technically, it’s a re-read of my favourite book from 2015. Still, I thought I’d be ‘too old’ for this book now but, if anything, I found it resonates with me a lot more as a 21-year-old than it did as a 17-year-old. This book will always hold a special place in my heart and I’ve found that Rowell’s subsequent books just haven’t compared.

41956650

Almost Adults – Ali Pantony

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ ½ | August 20th, 2019 | Ebury Press

If you’re looking for a relatable book about life in your 20s, this is the book for you. It made me laugh and it made me cry, sometimes at the same time. It was a beautiful story about friendships and the true meaning of family.

46403969. sy475

In Five Years – Rebecca Serle

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ | December 21st, 2019 | Quercus

This was one of those books which felt like everything is perfect until a plot twist, which fills you with pure dread. I had a strong attachment to the characters in this and could feel every emotion they felt bouncing off the page. This was a stunning novel, one that I highly recommend you pick up once it’s released!

47563893

The Nightjar – Deborah Hewitt

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ | September 14th, 2019 | Pan Macmillan

This one was just so magical. The world-building was exceptional and the characters were so loveable. I read this before I read the Shades of Magic series by V E Schwab, but they’re very similar in concept, so I definitely recommend it if you love Schwab’s writing! I’m excited for the sequel, which I believe comes out in autumn 2020.


 

What books made it into your top ten of 2019? Let me know in the comments!

2 Comments

Leave a comment